“This is a good sign, having a broken heart. It means we have tried for something” Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat Pray Love

Ironic to have listen to the audiobook of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat Pray Love at the suggestion of someone after a brief meeting . Although I should have read it as soon as I saw the movie preview during the Back-Up plan.  The book make me think of what was happening in my life at that very moment. I felt that I needed to do what she did but at a difference pace. Elizabeth Gilbert made me realize that in the end you will love again and you will find the one when you least expect it. When I listened to this book, I did not expect to have a life changing experience that would take over my break-up and preside of the hurt at a stronger level. Needles to say out of the things I read I think the following quotes from Elizabeth Gilbert best describe how I feel.

“People tend to think that happiness is a stroke of luck, something that will descend like fine weather if you’re fortunate. But happiness is the result of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly.”

“Someday you’re gonna look back on this moment of your life as such a sweet time of grieving. You’ll see that you were in mourning and your heart was broken, but your life was changing…”

Now I can’t wait for August 13, 2010 to see the movie.  I am sure I will enjoy the movie as much as I enjoyed listening to the audiobook.  Thanks Elizabeth Gilbert for writing such a wonderful book.

About Carmen Guaigua

I am 34 years old, married and have a beautiful baby girl. I am a board member to three organization in my local area and also a panel member for YAP. I love to travel, going to the movies or going to the theatre. You might ask, how did i get here? Well it was hard at first because I didn't want to put my personal life out there. After thinking about it for a couple days, I only had two options. One option was to move from Lancaster and leave everything I have build behind and option 2 was to go cross country and write about the places I visited. However, I took a different turn, I decided to go away every weekend and write about it. I included everything not just my travels, the audiobooks I listened, when I cried, laughed, got lost and most importantly when I found peace with myself. Besides this is not the hardest thing I have encounter in my life. Love comes and goes, but a broken heart is hard to mend. Many people think is an easy task but when you invest so much time and not get anything in return, not even a nice break-up you start to doubt yourself as to what you did wrong? I am not perfect, but I am happy to say that I did the best I can. Although I still feel like I received the bad end of the stick, I am thankful for the wonderful things that are happening in my life. Just wish I had not loss so much to get where I am at. This is where the journey finding love while traveling began. During my time of travel I was able to meet someone whom I fell in love and married in a span of three months. Yes it might of been crazy to do this, but for once in my life the decision I made felt right. He became my rock. Althought we have over 2,500 miles apart we have been able to manage our marriage. Now I am looking forward to reuniting and waiting for our big event. I never thought I was ever going to reach the happiness that I am experiecing. I guess I was worth the wait.
This entry was posted in Audiobooks, Carmen Guaigua and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “This is a good sign, having a broken heart. It means we have tried for something” Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat Pray Love

  1. Carlos Guaigua Cruz says:

    todo lo que tu haces es muy interesante, puedes enviar detalles familiares?

Leave a Reply

